Grand pops new toy needs needs to look not so plain

• Hi folks just bought my first jeep and it's a 2004 X wrangler with a inline 6 and auto transmission. I'm a disabled vet with neuropathy in my lower limbs and had to go the auto trans route. The jeep had only one owner and only 59K. But it;s just a plain black jeep with half doors and I would like to paint it the jeep orange or light blue. who does quality paint or am I making a mistake painting it.The hood needs a repaint looks like the clear coat is spidering When you look at it the hood looks like cat hairs are on the hood. I could keep it black take the pin strip off that I hate it was a women owned jeep and just repaint the hood black and add chrome diamond corners grill trim and chrome gas fill I would like larger tires on lt, has 15 on it now. I would put a 2" to 3 1/2 lift on it Can you give me some idea's. I know that jeeps have all kind of accessories that can really make it a cool looking jeep. what do you guys think? and any idea's. Thanks Tank

• Welcome aboard!

No worries on the auto trans, they're almost impossible to stall when you're offroading, and almost all of the hard-core competition guys use auto transmissions. ;)

A quality paint job can be expensive, depending on how much of the Jeep you want to have re-painted. If you skip the interior (coat it with Monstaliner or some other quality bedliner), it'll save a good bit of expense. Prep work is the primary expense on a paint job, pulling the carpet, seats and interior trim costs a lot a labor time. It might be cheaper overall to just get the hood fixed and add some accessories spray painted in the color of your preference like lights, bumpers, side armor, etc. Just an idea...