Posts by Chief57

First off, I'm an Army chief warrant officer who was born in '57 -- thus Chief57!! I'm not talented enough to be a fire chief!!

Second, I certainly hope and pray that the folks at Boyd's Welding know what they are doing. I have no reason to believe that those welded rings will fly off under any circumstances. But, one never know, do one?

Third, I bought the Champion winch off a forum post I made back in early December. I bought it from a former DEJA member and current forum guest poster (Certk9). I didn't like the look of a factory bumper, plus Certk9 explained that I'd need some more space to fit a winch plate anyway. He crafted the winch plate, and he attached the bumper to the Wrangler. Perhaps when my "ship comes in" I'll get a new Warn winch, which seems to be "the brand" everyone is raving about.

Keith_C, this is probably a dumb question, but how did you drop that picture of my bumper into your post? That's what I want to do. I know it's not as simple as "copy and paste."

Why'd someone have to go and put a dumpster right where she happened to be driving?! That was pretty inconsiderate. Hope she's good looking. FYI, I happen to be selling a bumper in the "for sale" forum.

So, there is a Quadratec hoist product! Well, what if I want to do it myself? It doesn't seem that complicated. I could use some input on these points:

- Should I use two ceiling-mounted pulleys instead of one? Seems to me that would add stability (eliminate back and forth swinging).

- How do I handle the rear hook? Since there's glass there, is there a special attachment or hook? (I assume you leave the rear glass in place.)

- Do you use a regular rope cleat to tie off the rope? A cam cleat? Something else?

- Is it necessary to use a horizontal spreader bar and let the hooks hang from that?