Wrangler owner in Wilmington!!

• Greetings Delaware Jeep Owners,

I can't say I'm new to the Jeep world, because I've owned a Tj a couple years ago, but then ended up selling it. But the last 6 months I've been itching to get back into a Wrangler, and I've been patient enough to find what I really wanted with the budget I was working with. So this past weekend I picked up a 1988 Wrangler, that I’m happy with and looking to make into a reliable daily driver :mrgreen: . Showing that there are quite a few Jeep owners in Delaware, I do need some basic help.. :-\

The Jeep came with a hardtop and fiberglass upper sliders, but there’s a small issue.. the fiberglass windows do not align correctly with the hardtop when the doors are shut (both passenger and diver). There’s a nice size gap between the hard top and window, almost identical to this picture: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f19/cj-hardtop-on-yj-79378.html

:bang: So this has been bothering me and I’ve been trying to research this issue for the last couple days and came to the conclusion that I could either have a CJ hardtop and/or TJ fiberglass upper windows. I would like to get together with another local Wrangler owner, preferably a YJ owner so I could swap parts to try to diagnose this issue. I live in Wilmington, and I commute down to Middletown a couple times a week to visit family, so I could meet with someone between those points or wherever is convenient for whomever is willing to meet with me.

Thank you!!
    -Joe

• My guess is that the 1/2 upper doors are not meant to fit a hard top at all, but are designed for soft top use. Or some other aftermarket top. The CJ and YJ tops are nearly identical. Main difference is around the lift gate. I used to run CJ HT on my 89 YJ and had no troubles with AJ's fiberglass uppers.

A few thoughts..
    Did you remove the roll bar <> windshield spreader bars?
    Did you adjust the windshield to lean further back