New member looking for Jeep.

• I live in North Wilmington near Bellefonte but just bought a "beach house" in Millsboro down off of 24. I am just getting into surf fishing and want to get something to use on the beach. Ideally I want a Wrangler (so I can take the top off) but would also not mind a Cherokee. Its hardly going to be driven so I am not looking on spending a lot of money on one. However, I would like to get something reliable. Its going to have to get me too the beach and back home; other than that its just gonna sit in my driveway in Millsboro. Been combing Craigslist daily looking but not being familiar with Jeep's I really don't know what I am looking at. I joined the site in hopes of educating myself. There is a guy up the street that has 2 bad ass Jeeps that I was thinking of stopping and talking too to see if I could pick his brain and get some buying advice from.

• Welcome! You've found a great resource for the questions you have. There are a lot of people here that are knowledgeable about Jeeps and also about surf fishing.

If it will strictly be for beach use then either a Wrangler or Cherokee will suit your needs. Both are very capable even in their stock forms. The only advantage I can think of is that the Cherokee will afford you more cargo space. Some people with Wranglers solve that issue with small trailers or cargo racks. The 6cyl engines (4.2 or 4.0) are the preferred power plants as they are nearly indestructible work horses...

There's lots of things to look for when selecting and buying a Jeep but there's great people here who are always willing to help and answer questions you may have. Again, welcome and we're glad to have ya!
    :wavey:

Your life is made up of 2 dates and a dash... make the most of the dash!

• ... there's great people here who are always willing to help and answer questions you may have.

^ truth
    and welcome! :wavey:

~ JD