Cage and rocker pics Finally

• I prob won't be at the meeting due to scheduling conflicts. If you are in the newark area give me a call - number in members section.

Jason

• ok i will be up hear till friday so i will give you a call.

bLaTaNt DiSrEgArD<br /><br /><br />TJ 98 4 banger gone but not fogotten<br />WJ 02 limited- Do all vehicle &quot;QUICK THROW A LOCKER AT IT!!!&quot;

• Ok, I have a question... but I'm too lazy to search Pirate for the answer. Especially since I am not going with the same design.

On the frame tie in method used here:

How does it hold up to a full roll, not just a "flop"? It just seems to me that since the energy will roll off the end of the cage leg, and the frame tie in is 90 degrees from that point, that the effective leverage that will be put on the welds where the frame tie in actually connects to the frame will be too great... and result in a failure rather easily.

I'm no engineer (although I do spell like one) but that 90 degree joint just looks week. I think it should at least be attached flush with the top side of the frame and gusseted on each side of the frame tie in's square tube, down to the bottom side of the frame.

Kinda like this...

Just a thought...

Anyone know if its needed or is the design as posted good enough?

• Hey Rob you should stop and look at the cage in the CJ, my braces have more of an angle to them but there is a lot you aren't seeing from the photos holding it in. There are 6x6 plates welded on the top and bottom and bolted through each other, the B pillar is bolted through the body mount, and my rocker guards are tied in to the whole thing as well. I also had Zach weld spreaders from left to right for the seats to mount to so I pretty much have a tube frame like you want where my jeep can fall off around me and I am still in the cage.

• Quote from "roeper72"