Air Bag Springs for a TJ

• Been toying around with the idea of useing air bags on the project TJ. For multiple reasons actually. 1) I'm going to fab up my own long arm system for it and was thinking it would be nice to be able to air the bags all the way down to make it easier for the wife to get in and out. 2) If i set up a per axle manifold for the pair of springs, as one wheel gets tucked up into the wheel well it would force air to the other side bag and place more downward pressure on the side with less weight. 3) I could dial up different lift heights by air pressure regulation for different situations.
    Now i have zero experience with a set-up like this, and my thoughts are experimental type ideas. Anyone have any experience with air suspension and it's limitations?

If you need wrenching advice feel free to ask! Others experience can be a good way to save time and money!

• Elff is on here once in a while and used to run the ORO Airock system on his TJ.

I've never used the system personally but have seen it used at RC and it was pretty impressive watching the system level the Jeep out.

Keep in mind you will be working your air compressor pretty hard so don't skimp in that department or I think you will run into issues.

Good luck.

EDIT: Fixed Link

• I work on air suspensions almost every day. Almost all of my customers that wheel swap out the air bags for coil springs. They all seem a lot happier and and I see them a whole lot less. It is a cool idea, but there is just too much stuff to break.

• Hey Spedly, does it ride softer with the air bags? The wife is recovering right now from a 3 level cervical fusion and i"m building the jeep for her to wheel with. So breaking stuff isn't too big of a deal to me if it provides a more comfortable setup for her. And since you work on them so much could you point me in a direction to find the bags? Most of them i have looked at only show me compressed height and not extended height nor load capacity.